for the simple things & new songs.

life never really uncomplicates itself very easily.

i’ve felt the very real, raw feeling of being displaced since landing back at home in Kansas City, wondering if my sacred circle of people are still here for me. i’ve also felt the entanglement that tends to happen with family, the love and beauty and chaos it embodies, and i wonder if things will always be so complex.

i’m no rocket-scientist, but there’s never an easy fix.

as i sit here in Mildred’s Coffeehouse, the smell of freshly cooked bacon wafting within the exposed brick walls that make-up this quaint place where i find myself most days, i’m reminded of the simple things.

coffee.

things like good conversations with old friends, a hot tea to soothe a sore throat, scribbling out words in my journal, and paying no mind to the dog barking relentlessly as i walk past his humble abode, where he stands guard of his family.

things like spiders in the corner of my little basement apartment that somehow feel familiar, a bit like Africa, and greeting cards that make me laugh out loud in the middle of the stationary aisle at Target. oh, Target. things like babies and their dimples and new, good tunes in your ears.

there’s nothing quite like a new, good song.

i feel that is what God is doing for me right now. romancing me, singing lullabies to me in the midst my turmoil, hushing me back to a place of calm rest in Him, and He’s saying i can sing my new song too. i don’t have to fear the rhythm or tempo, whether or not it’s the right pitch or tune.

He just asks me to sing.

i was reminded of this during a beautiful meeting with a friend over coffee just yesterday.

i’ll preface by saying i’d also taken a great, long walk on my old usual trail by the Missouri river, with crisp, cold air pressing against my body as i strolled, surrounded by bare naked trees, tall and wide, lining the river and its bluffs.

river.

then i had a hilarious talk with my sassy and sweet pregnant friend, who encouraged me to just move. to go somewhere. to do something. she asked me about the feedback i received on the World Race, and i had to stop and take inventory to remember the goodies people on my teams had gifted me in the form of words throughout this past year.

and so i sat over coffee with that friend, reminiscing and dreaming about our futures with wide-eyes and fast-paced hearts, and much of what she said resonated. yet one thing that actually stuck with me was this:

“i want to extract JOY wherever i am, wherever i go.”

profound, right? but really simple.

i can take my Jesus and my sass wherever i go, but if i don’t love people well enough to extract their joy out into the world we dwell in, what’s the point?

this can happen in Kansas City, Georgia, Spain, or anywhere else. it’s not confined to one place. joy exists everywhere…or it should.

so as i get back into writing and planning and dreaming and scheming and updating my resumé and being grown-up again, the purpose that ignites and remains is this:

singing a joyful song!
yes, simply that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
{i’ve been drawn to this tune, as of late…}
“settle down, it’ll all be clear, don’t pay no mind to the demons, they fill you with fear. the trouble, it might drag you down, if you get lost, you will always be found. just know you’re not alone, ’cause i’m gonna make this place your home.”

2 thoughts on “for the simple things & new songs.

Leave a Reply

