for promise keeping.

it’d been a strangely difficult day.

strangely in the sense that i can’t fully explain it, but for those of you who have followed my recent posts, you know it’s been a trying season at home.

so it was raining. like a melancholy drizzle of FREEZING that makes you so appreciate a hooded coat. i had planned to do laundry, read books, & journal, a true salute to a dreary Sunday.

but my plans are often thwarted, and then my sense of entitlement can creep up like a bad hair day and make me feel that i was robbed of all i had been promised. {but the truth is, these are only the things i’d hoped for.}

even still…burglarized. that’s the only way to describe how it felt.

so i’m driving down the familiar street i grew up on. not my own neighborhood, but a few streets north of my own, named Avalon. it’s the street my mom grew up on, mostly, running barefoot from house to house, chasing fireflies, building mud-pies, & getting accidentally drug behind an ice-cream truck. oh, the simpler days.

the naked tree limbs, beat-up from the harsh winter, arched over the street as i neared my grandma’s old house, where my dad currently lives, and the rain splattered across my windshield. i listened as the wind-shield wipers squeaked back and forth.

Image

then, almost out of nowhere, the song playing loudly through the speakers permeated my heart. and i broke.

just…sobs.

i clung to the tupperware full of lemon cake i was on a mission to deliver, and i felt God’s nearness and goodness as these words rang true:

Whisper my name, so only I can hear
Call to my heart, chase away my fears
Stand up in this place, fight for the one you love
Won’t you come surround me, so I can rise above

Explode my soul, let these walls come down
All these prison thoughts crumble with the sound
Of my deliverance from my enemies
I stand up beside you, let’s watch these giants flee

Let the silence be broken, and the winter be done
Will you come out of your hiding, kiss me sweet warm sun
Let the wind of your spirit blow the dust off my feet
I ran to you broken but now I am complete

Hello Promise Land, we’ve waited for so long
To see what we’ve believed in, to sing this Promise Land song
Explode my soul, explode with praise
What He promised is what He gave

sometimes it feels as though there is no greater fraud than a promise not kept. but the things i think i’ve been promised i actually have not. i have entitlement issues, and they are figments of my imagination. but the True promises have been kept, because the Lord of my life is a radical promise-keeper & He’s nearer to us than we ever could’ve hoped for.

One thought on “for promise keeping.

Leave a Reply

