for new spines.

no one ever tells you how important your spine is.

actually, they do.
i think i learned about it in high school anatomy class, but i never really took it seriously, and often got glares from my teacher as I drew stick figures in my note-book.

some of you know i’ve lived most of my life in chronic pain, suffering from aches and terrible sensations throughout my body that were unexplainable. i’ve seen doctor upon doctor for migraines, back pain, herniated disks, fibromyalgia, hormone problems, and more.

& i’m young. 
i’m only 27, and many of the professionals i’ve seen have told me i have the body of someone much, much older.

just this past week, i began going to a Chiropractor a good friend of mine has been seeing, and as a new patient, i received all x-rays and scans for free.

but that perk of free didn’t really matter much when i received my results.
what they told me about my spine, specifically in my neck and lower back, nearly left me paralyzed, so to speak.

below is a picture of my neck currently.

neck

simply put, my spine is supposed to be where the blue line is, curving backward to support my head.
instead, it curves the complete opposite direction, creating no where for my Atlas {Axis} to rest.

because of this, my brain stem is angry and can not do it’s proper job, and that is why so many other parts of my body are suffering. it’s also why if i leave my spine in this condition, to inevitably get worse over time, it will decrease my life-span by 25%.

additionally, the mild scoliosis in my lower back has progressed to severe. i will be adding my x-rays to show you what my lower back currently looks like, and i will compare it to a healthy spine that is located at the correct angle so you can see the difference. it’s astonishing, and not in a good way.  my bones are beginning to atrophy {die}, and arthritis is already very prominent.

to me, that’s unacceptable and scary. again, i’m 27, not 67, so these things should not be occurring in my body.

so what are the doctors proposing?

they have recommended 6-9 months of treatment to avoid later problems and potential surgery.

this will require me going to their offices for:
3x a week for the first 4 weeks.
2x a week for the next 12 weeks.
1x a week for the following 12 weeks.

it will also include a few other x-rays over the course of my treatment, so we can view the hopeful progress my spine will be making, and multiple consultations with my doctor about where he sees my body advancing.

it does not include hyper-extending my neck or crazy, loud, painful adjustments, but rather slow, mild adjustments over a long period of time, which is the proper way to care for a spine.

i will be keeping those of you who wish to learn more about my progress updated periodically, but not because i want to. and just so you know, I’ve received second and third opinions about this care, and all doctors agree that the proposed forward motion is imperative.

so where does that leave us?
well, God is telling me to invite people into this journey.
i couldn’t tell you why, but more often than not, He challenges us to step out of our comfort zones and into the Body of Christ for help.

& it makes me queazy, anxious, and a bit angry.
i don’t like to depend on others. at all.

but He’s pulling me out of my stubbornness and into a season of learning that i can’t do life alone.
He’s teaching me that people actually want to help, and it blesses them when i let them.
He’s teaching me to ask hard questions, and hope for big things, because He is the ultimate provider and healer.

so because i’m a support-raised missionary, and because i know it’s good to have insurance for emergencies, i opted to buy high deductible, lower monthly payment health insurance for general doctor/dentist visits. even still, i never anticipated such an urgent need to arise so soon.

but God has blessed me with a vehicle to actually get to these appointments.
He’s reminding me that He has prepared me for such a time as this, equipped me and provided for me.

so what am i asking you to pray about?

pray about whether He’s asking you to support me in this way.
pray for healing over my body.
pray for the doctors who will be working on me, for knowledge to overflow, and for them to know the correct pressure to place on the correct points of my spine.

the good news: 
because i’m young, a lot of these issues are reversible.

ALSO {& this is a big also…}:
if i pay for everything up front, it’s 20% less, which means i’ll owe $3,268 instead of $4,068.
and i need this money by Monday {or A.S.A.P…there is a slight grace period}

how can you give?

1. first of all, THANK YOU for desiring to bless me in this way.

2. second, you can make all checks out to Upper Cervical Chiropractic of Georgia
+ write “Suzy Hachey” in the memo-line {this is super important}

you can mail all checks to: 
6000 Wellspring Trail
attn: Suzy Hachey
Gainesville, GA 30506

3. third, reply below or email me at suzyhachey@adventures.org to let me know what amount you pledge to give and when. this will help me compile information and know how much i’ve yet to raise.

4. if you want to receive my newsletters, reply below or email me as well, and i’ll add you to the list. i promise to only send out one update per month.


from the bottom, middle, and top parts of my heart and soul, I thank you.
I know I tend to ask for crazy things sometimes, at least in terms of what our world defines as “crazy” vs. “normal”.

But I serve a crazy God. 
& He desires for me to have life to the full, not one spent in pain. 
I’m learning to believe in that promise, and invite you to join me on the journey. 

Leave a Reply

